Book Review: Me Before You

'Me_Before_You'Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Genre: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary

Publisher: Penguin Books, 2013

Links: Goodreads // Amazon

Rating⭐️: 5/5

Summary: They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . . Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is. Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living. A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our StarsMe Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Review: 

“’Hey Clark’, he said.’Tell me something good’.”

UGHHH. This book you guys. This. Book. I didn’t think I would love this book as much as I did when I first ordered this. I feel like this book has changed me and made me more aware of all that life has to offer and how quickly your life can change.

“You only get one life. It’s actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

The characters in the book were so realistic and unique in their own ways that it added more depth to the story and made it more interesting. I love how Lou and Will, despite being polar opposites at the beginning, were such a good balance for each other and brought out the best in each other. Will was able to push Lou to step out of her comfort zone and get out of their small town to discover herself and widen her horizons. Lou was able to get through to Will when no one else could and she taught him that even when life looks very grim, there are still some positives out there, you just have to be willing and able to look for them and accept them.

“…I told him a story of two people. Two people who shouldn’t have met, and who didn’t like each other much when they did, but who found they were the only two people in the world who could possibly have understood each other.”

I will say that Lou’s parents really annoyed me and I felt that they were very unreasonable at times and so rude to Lou despite what she was going through. But Patrick annoyed me the most. Ugh that boy. I just wanted to smack him throughout the whole book. I will admit, I was partial to his character in the beginning because Matthew Lewis (aka Neville Longbottom, master of puberty) is going to be playing him in the movie, but that didn’t really help his case as the book progressed😂🙈 ESPECIALLY with the fact that he was very very similar to my ex in every single irritating way possible.

Robert-Downey-Jr-Confused-and-Irritated       raw

I don’t know how Lou put up with him for 7 YEARS! Like, woman! No! I was reading it with my best friend AlliGrace and I kept reporting to her and venting about it😂

But the characters, plot, and writing made me so invested in the story that I actually laughed and cried while reading it. I think I cried about 3 times throughout the book and this is only the second book that has ever made me cry, the first being City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare (one of my all time favorites!).

tumblr_m6yrdogPrj1rziwwco1_500.gif

tobeymaguire_1.gif

My hopes rose and fell so many times that it was practically a rollercoaster of emotions and a fountain of tears. The sincerity and raw emotion and strong connection in Lou and Will’s relationship made it so…for lack of better words..real. And the constant battle between their own individual consciences and their battle within their relationship of wanting to be together versus trying to do what’s best for the other even if it’s not what they personally want is how Moyes showed how pure and true their love was.

“I thought, briefly, that I would never feel as intensely connected to the world, to another human being, as I did at that moment.”

Personally, I think that Moyes’s true talent is being able to put one’s deepest and truest thoughts and emotions into words and to perfectly relay what that person is feeling in that exact moment. I believe that that is what made me love the book even more.

“I hadn’t realized that music could unlock things in you, could transport you to somewhere even the composer hadn’t predicted. It left an imprint in the air around you, as if you carried its remnants with you when you went.”

I think it’s safe to say that this is one of my tippy top reads of 2016. Hands down. And I can’t wait to see it on the big screen and cry even more (jk, not really looking forward to crying even more, but I really am excited and definitely gonna bring tissues and wear waterproof mascara).

“Push yourself. Don’t Settle. Just live well. Just LIVE.”

I really hope you enjoyed this review and let me know what your thoughts are in the comments below! Talk to you soon!

-xo, Sammira


One thought on “Book Review: Me Before You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s