Book Review: Beastly Bones by William Ritter

 Ritter_BeastlyBones_jkt_COMP.inddBeastly Bones (Jackaby, #2) by William Ritter

Genre: Mystery, Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical Fictional

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers, 2015

Links: Goodreads // Amazon

Rating ⭐️: 4.5/5

Summary: In 1892, New Fiddleham, New England, things are never quite what they seem, especially when Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, R. F. Jackaby, are called upon to investigate the supernatural.

First, members of a particularly vicious species of shape-shifters disguise themselves as a litter of kittens. A day later, their owner is found murdered, with a single mysterious puncture wound to her neck. Then, in nearby Gad’s Valley, dinosaur bones from a recent dig go missing, and an unidentifiable beast attacks animals and people, leaving their mangled bodies behind. Policeman Charlie Cane, exiled from New Fiddleham to the valley, calls on Abigail for help, and soon Abigail and Jackaby are on the hunt for a thief, a monster, and a murderer.

 

“Critics laud William Ritter’s Jackaby series as perfect for fans of Sherlock, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, and Supernatural – and while that’s a tall order for any book, I’m happy to report that Jackaby and its sequel, Beastly Bones, more than fit the bill! Utterly charming.”—Mugglenet 

“The fun continues in this Holmsien follow-up to Jackaby. . . Fans of the first novel will be pleased with this entertaining sequel, rich in intrigue and imagination.” —Booklist

“Jackaby’s sense of humor, ever droll and capricious, shines once again in this sequel. The storytelling is just as solid and absorbing, too, even with quite the crowd—shape-shifters, rival paleontologists, an avid hunter, a livestock-pillaging predator, an intrepid journalist—and there’s a bit of romance as well.” –The Horn Book
Review:  I was very pleased with this sequel! Considering the fact that Jackaby was Ritter’s first book, I think he became more comfortable with the characters and the plot line, resulting in a better sequel.  I really enjoyed the fact that he delved deeper into his characters’ back stories because it made them more interesting and captivating to read about.  The beginning did start off a bit slow, but it picks up within the first few chapters.  The ending left me wanting the next book Ghostly Echoes ASAP, so I can’t wait for it to come out!
Thanks for reading and talk to you soon!
-Sammira

One thought on “Book Review: Beastly Bones by William Ritter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s