Book Review: Jackaby by William Ritter

20312462 Jackaby by William Ritter

Genre: Mystery, Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical Fictional

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers, 2014

Links: Goodreads // Amazon

Rating⭐️: 4.5/5

Summary: Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary–including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain the foul deeds are the work of the kind of creature whose very existence the local authorities–with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane–seem adamant to deny.

“We honestly couldn’t put it down.” —Nerdist.com
“Toss together an alternate 19th-century New England city, a strong tradition of Sherlockian pastiche, and one seriously ugly hat, and this lighthearted and assured debut emerges, all action and quirk.” —Publishers Weekly

“Recommend this to readers who enjoy Doctor Who, Supernatural, GrimmDresden FilesHarry Potter, and, of course, Sherlock Holmes stories, and who are ready to stay up into the wee hours reading.” —VOYA, starred review 

tumblr_m06uzvKqo11r8qmot                      SPN_GASP-gif.gif~c200

               ↑↑↑ literally my reaction to that review before getting the book ↑↑↑ 

Review: I actually really enjoyed it! I’m
a real sucker for anything Sherlock Holmes related, so that’s what drew me to this book. It was a different take on Sherlock in that the story had an essence of the late 1800s England world and the same mystery and adrenaline pumping vibe as the Conan Doyle novels, but it had a supernatural spin to it which I think gave it a fresh new feel to it. So it was sort of like a mix between Sherlock and Supernatural, which reaallyyy got me excited! *fangirls* I will admit that it was a bit slow-moving in the first few chapters, but once it picked up I had a hard time putting it down. The lovable, unique, and strange characters also made the book more enjoyable and interesting. Overall, if you’re looking for a quick read, this is a great choice for you! If you’ve already read it, let me know what you think in the comments below!

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed!

-Sammira

 


3 thoughts on “Book Review: Jackaby by William Ritter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s